ChessPivot
interactive courses and CT-ART tactics

CT-ART / Chess King review: scores and evidence

Chess King Learn sells 130-147 interactive courses (theory plus exercises, including CT-ART 4.0: 4,000 exercises across 50 themes) with a puzzle rating and per-course statistics, synchronised across web, iOS and Android; Chess King Play offers online games and engine analysis. No import of the player’s own games and no weakness diagnosis on those games is documented.

Overall score

3.7/ 10

Rank

22/ 147

Languages

11

Yearly price

"Maximum 130+" subscription (all courses): ₽8,499.15/yr on learn.chessking.com (roubles only); App Store: subscriptions $11.99–119.99 → $119.99 ≈ €110 (× 0.92). CT-ART 4.0 alone: one-off purchase $12.99 ≈ €12. Rule: annual price shown (iOS store, top tier).

Official site
01

What the service is

Chess King Learn is the web and mobile arm of the Chess King course catalogue, produced with ChessOK: the chessok.com footer reads “© 2008 — 2025 ChessOK.com” and its product page states that “Chess King and Chess King Learn have been working since 2008 with ChessOK to create the best chess courses”, while the chessking.com footer reads “© 2013–2026 Chess King” and the App Store names “CHESSQUEEN INC” as the seller. The catalogue advertises 147 structured courses covering tactics, strategy, openings, the middlegame and endgames, among them CT-ART 4.0, an adaptation of grandmaster Maxim Blokh’s book of combinations: 2,200 core exercises and 1,800 auxiliary ones spread over 50 themes. Every solved exercise moves a rating, statistics sync across web, iOS and Android, and Chess King Play adds online games and computer analysis. The business model mixes one-off course purchases with subscriptions (Chess King University, and a “Maximum” plan that unlocks every course), up to $119.99 a year on the App Store. The same house also sells separate PC software: Chess King 26, Chess Assistant 26, ChessOK Aquarium 2026 and CT-ART 5.0.

02

Activity history

  1. 2026-08The “Chess King - Learn to Play” app moves to iOS version 6.0.0 on 11 August 2026, adding University and Opening trainer sections to the home screen.
  2. 2018-01Last update to the CT-ART 4.0 iOS app: version 1.2, released on 18 January 2018.
  3. 2017-12The “Chess King - Learn to Play” app is first released on the App Store on 19 December 2017.
  4. 2016-09The “CT-ART 4.0 (Chess Tactics)” app is first released on the App Store on 3 September 2016.
  5. 2013The chessking.com footer runs the brand’s copyright from 2013 onwards (“© 2013–2026 Chess King”).
  6. 2008Chess King and Chess King Learn have worked with ChessOK on the courses since 2008, according to chessok.com, whose copyright starts that same year.
03

The scores, evidence by evidence

Every score points to the page read and the fact found there. A fact documented nowhere is not credited: document it, then write to us.

APersonalized diagnosis

2.1

A1 :0Importing your games (Chess.com, Lichess, PGN files)

https://learn.chessking.com/learning/faq — no mention of Chess.com/Lichess/PGN import; https://chessok.com/?page_id=27966: import is limited to Chess King 26 (PC software).

A2 :1Automatic engine analysis of every game

https://play.chessking.com/ — “analyze games with the help of a computer” on demand, with no documented automatic pass.

A3 :1Recurring mistakes identified across all your games

https://learn.chessking.com/learning/statistics: rating + “Решено хорошо / средне / плохо” per course; no mistake named

A4 :0Types of mistakes covered (tactics, strategy, endgame, time…)

https://learn.chessking.com/learning/faq: no published mistake typology

A5 :2Written explanation of each mistake

https://apps.apple.com/us/app/chess-king-learn-to-play/id1305823239: “explains the idea behind the right move… refutation of the mistakes” on exercises, not on the player’s games

A6 :0Stated verification of the diagnoses (procedure, rates)

https://learn.chessking.com/learning/faq — no information on diagnostic reliability.

A7 :1Tracking each weakness over time

https://learn.chessking.com/learning/faq — rating curve over the “last 24 hours, per month”, nothing per weakness.

A8 :0Comparison with players of the same rating

https://learn.chessking.com/learning/statistics — no comparison with a rating band.

BOpenings

3.3

B1 :1Building a personal repertoire

https://learn.chessking.com/learning/?lang=en — set opening courses; no repertoire editor on Learn.

B2 :2Training the repertoire (drills, games)

https://apps.apple.com/us/app/chess-king-learn-to-play/id1305823239 — interactive exercises on openings; no spaced repetition and no games played against the repertoire.

B3 :0Spotting where you left your repertoire in your games

https://learn.chessking.com/learning/faq — no deviation detection in the player’s games.

B4 :1Verification of the lines taught (engine, practice)

https://learn.chessking.com/learning/course/1 — author “Chess King”, lines not stated to be engine-checked.

B5 :0Opening explorer and statistics

https://learn.chessking.com/learning/?lang=en — no explorer on Learn or Play; the encyclopaedia lives in Chess Assistant (PC, https://chessok.com/?page_id=27947).

B6 :2Explanation of opening plans and ideas

https://apps.apple.com/us/app/chess-king-learn-to-play/id1305823239 — “interactive theory with hints and explanations”; no video.

CTargeted training

5.2

C1 :0Exercises drawn from your own games

https://learn.chessking.com/learning/faq — no exercise drawn from the player’s own games.

C2 :2Bank of tactical exercises (size, themes, rating)

https://apps.apple.com/us/app/ct-art-4-0-chess-tactics/id1132601225 — 2,200 + 1,800 exercises, 50 themes, 18 levels; under 100,000, no public voting.

C3 :2Endgame training

https://apps.apple.com/us/app/chess-king-learn-to-play/id1305823239 — interactive endgame courses (“Total Chess Endgames 1600-2400”, $17.99).

C4 :2Strategic and positional training

https://apps.apple.com/us/app/chess-king-learn-to-play/id1305823239: “Chess Strategy for Beginners” and “Strategy & Tactics” courses with exercises; themes not listed

C5 :2Training defense and alertness

https://apps.apple.com/us/app/chess-king-learn-to-play/id1305823239: “Chess Opening Blunders” course — a single sub-type

C6 :2Training calculation and visualization

https://apps.apple.com/us/app/ct-art-4-0-chess-tactics/id1132601225 — combination calculation by levels 10-180; no documented visualisation or blindfold programme.

C7 :2Difficulty matched to your real level

https://learn.chessking.com/learning/faq — “rating changes after solving each task depending on how the user solved it”; target not documented.

C8 :1Spaced repetition (named algorithm)

https://learn.chessking.com/learning/faq: no repetition algorithm; badly solved exercises can be replayed

C9 :1Personalized training plan

https://apps.apple.com/us/app/chess-king-learn-to-play/id1305823239: “7 guided learning paths” by level, with no daily queue

DPrice and value

4.2

D1 :1What the free plan actually lets you do

https://learn.chessking.com/learning/faq — “free trial access” limited inside the apps; courses with a partial free preview.

D2 :1Annual price of the full plan

https://apps.apple.com/us/app/chess-king-learn-to-play/id1305823239 — subscriptions up to $119.99 ≈ €110/year; website: ₽8,499.

D3 :1Commercial transparency (price shown, trial, cancellation)

https://shop.chessking.com/ — prices “не опубликовано” (not published) outside iOS; https://learn.chessking.com/learning/subscribe → 404; neither refund nor trial documented.

D4 :2Number of paid tiers (how simple the offer is)

https://apps.apple.com/us/app/chess-king-learn-to-play/id1305823239: individual course purchases plus University and “Maximum” subscriptions; Maximum unlocks every course

ERigor and honesty

2.5

E1 :1Published evidence of effectiveness

https://apps.apple.com/us/app/ct-art-4-0-chess-tactics/id1132601225 — “voted more than once the best chess training program”, with no method.

E2 :0Chess verification of the content (positions, lines)

https://learn.chessking.com/learning/faq — no information on content verification.

E3 :1Transparency of the method (algorithms, code)

https://learn.chessking.com/learning/faq — “rating of the game” described in general terms, formula not published.

E4 :1Marketing claims that can be checked (no overselling)

https://learn.chessking.com/learning/ — “Мировой лидер в обучении шахматам” (world leader), unverifiable.

FContent and method

4.7

F1 :2Courses organized by rating level

https://learn.chessking.com/learning/course/1 — courses labelled by rating band (200-1600; “1600-2400” for endgames); a complete pathway is not proven.

F2 :1Course authors named and titled

https://learn.chessking.com/learning/course/1 — author “Chess King”; no titled author named on learn.chessking.com.

F3 :2Content formats (text, video, interactive)

https://apps.apple.com/us/app/chess-king-learn-to-play/id1305823239 — text theory plus interactive exercises; no video.

F4 :1Published method of progression

https://learn.chessking.com/learning/?lang=en — levels “beginner to master”; no published curriculum with milestones.

F5 :1How often the content is updated

https://itunes.apple.com/search?term=chess+king+learn&entity=software — iOS version dated 11/08/2026; no monthly content changelog.

GPlaying and practice

3.3

G1 :1Playing humans online (pool, anti-cheating)

https://play.chessking.com/ — online play against humans, no published count of connected players.

G2 :1Realistic artificial opponents

https://apps.apple.com/us/app/chess-king-learn-to-play/id1305823239 — “play against computer”; levels, but no personalities.

G3 :1Replaying one specific position against the machine

https://apps.apple.com/us/app/ct-art-4-0-chess-tactics/id1132601225 — “computer analysis mode to play out positions” from an exercise; not from the player’s own games.

G4 :1Tournaments and organized competition

https://play.chessking.com/: “personal and team tournaments and competitions”; daily frequency not published → only occasional tournaments demonstrated.

HExperience and accessibility

7.3

H1 :3Platforms available (web, iOS, Android, desktop)

https://learn.chessking.com/learning/?lang=en — “iOS, Android, Web” synchronised; Chess King 26 for Windows/Mac (chessok.com).

H2 :3User ratings and reviews (stores, press)

https://itunes.apple.com/search?term=chess+king+learn&entity=software — Chess King Learn 4.76/5 (2,488 reviews); CT-ART 4.0 4.83 (2,193).

H3 :3Interface languages available

https://chessking.com/: interface in 11 languages; courses (CT-ART) translated, French included

H4 :0Accessibility (keyboard, screen reader)

https://learn.chessking.com/learning/faq — no accessibility information.

H5 :2Offline use and known incidents

https://learn.chessking.com/learning/faq — courses usable offline in the apps, “statistics will not synchronize”.

IPreparation and study

1.7

I1 :0Preparing for a named opponent

https://play.chessking.com/: online play and analysis, no report on a named opponent

I2 :1Annotating and sharing games (studies)

https://learn.chessking.com/learning/faq: “Вставляет/редактирует текстовый комментарий к текущему ходу” (text comment, markers) during live lessons; no link sharing

I3 :1Entering a game played at a club (photo, scoresheet)

https://learn.chessking.com/learning/faq: position setup on an interactive board; no photo and no OCR

I4 :0Searching your games (filters, position)

https://play.chessking.com/: no list and no search of one’s own games observed

JHuman coaching and community

4.2

J1 :0Access to human coaches

https://learn.chessking.com/learning/faq — no human coach; “trainers” are outside teachers' accounts.

J2 :1Size and activity of the community

https://play.chessking.com/ — tournaments and online play, no counter and no visible forum.

J3 :2Tools for trainers, clubs and schools

https://learn.chessking.com/learning/faq — a trainer adds students with a promo code, 3 months free; no per-student diagnosis.

J4 :2Engagement mechanics (streaks, virtual currency, reminders)

https://apps.apple.com/us/app/chess-king-learn-to-play/id1305823239 — rating and progress; no virtual currency and no re-engagement prompt observed.

KPersonal data and interoperability

0.0

K1 :0Exporting your data (games, repertoire)

https://learn.chessking.com/learning/faq — no data export; Learn holds none of the player’s games.

K2 :0Protection of personal data (GDPR, hosting)

https://chessking.com/ios_privacy_policy.html — country not specified, no GDPR, advertisers get the device identifier, data shared “to our partners”.

K3 :0Public API and source code

https://learn.chessking.com/learning/faq — no API and no public code; PGN import only in the PC software.

04

Also, outside the grid

Features found that no criterion measures. They do not count towards the score.

  • live lessons on a shared board (lecturer mode)
  • kids mode
  • interface in 25 languages
  • free rating test on sign-up
05

Sources consulted

06

Services with a similar profile